Embittered Children

Americans in the US have just endured the first of  the Presidential debates for the upcoming election. Endured is the most polite word I can come up with after listening to the two candidates involved.

My 17 year old son has recently become interested in government and politics. He has been following this election from the primaries. This evening he took upon himself to watch the debate online in the comfort of his own room while folding his laundry.

As the debate was ending, I was passing by his room and I heard a deep sigh.  “Well, that’s over.”  I looked into the door and saw my son turning off his monitor. I caught his eyes, and I saw the frustration in them. The sadness. The hopelessness.

We owe our children better than this. We owe our children an apology.

We have placed ourselves and our children in a terrible position. We have put our hope and faith in a system that is abhorrently flawed and then behave badly when our side doesn’t like the tactics of the others.

I talked about this in my previous blog. I still stand by those statements.
https://edwardsvillecupcake.wordpress.com/2016/09/09/careless-words/

I took my son in my arms and told him I am sorry. I am sorry that adults have gotten us into this situation.

We will be judged for this. Make no mistake.
Colossians 3:21
Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged.

Leave a Reply

